My Favorite Books

I’ve been thinking about this post for a while now and I’m finding it very very hard to choose some favorites from the large amount of books I’ve read in my life in both, English and Spanish.

Since I was a little girl my mother used to read to me every night and as the years passed by, I started doing it by myself and amassed an enormous library. My parents spared no expense when books were concerned and so, every vacation when our school gave us the list of recommended books my mom took me to the book store that is still my favorite in Guatemala called “La Jirafa” and let me purchase as many books as I wanted. It was a huge risk from her part but she trusted that I would finish them all… and I did.

One of my childhood favorites came at the age of 13 years old when my Lit teacher asked us to read Crusade in Jeans, by Thea Beckman. About two chapters in I wasn’t able to put it down and finished it in a heartbeat; I was fascinated by the time traveling fantasy and got really attached to all the characters so I’ve literally lost count on how many times I’ve read it and still love it, even as an adult.

I’m also an Anne Frank fan. This book is the first one to make me cry my eyes out, it gave me a very different perspective on the world I had been living in because I couldn’t believe something like that could happen. I think this is where my interest in WWII started and which led me down the road of Night by Elie Wiesel, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne, Winter in Wartime by Jan Terlouw, Viktor Frankl, among many others.

But I think that my all time favorite is the Harry Potter Series, all of them, including The Cursed Child. I read the complete series at least twice a year; I love the magical world and hate, hate being a muggle. I can see myself living in that world, I can imagine every single description and character.

Among other things, I also love the Secret Society Girl series which is the go to books when I’m mad or upset and I need to cool down, the first three Selection books and novellas, the Red Queen series is a favorite that’s currently puzzling me.

Anyway, those are a couple of my favorite books… feel free to recommend me some of your favorite books.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

