The Sun Is Also a Star REVIEW

Title: The Sun Is Also a Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre:  YA, Contemporary, Romance

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Description:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 

My Review:

★★★☆☆

When I finished reading this book I gave it 3 stars. Why? Because of the alternate stories; I found them annoying and boring. Then I read a review where it was called to my attention that everyone around us has a story, their own lives and problems; so, I still think some clarifications are boring BUT I realize there is more to this book than instalove.

The alternation between Daniel’s and Natasha’s POV’s is very well done, this style of writing can go so wrong if not done correctly but Nicola still manages to, not only switch successfully between Daniel and Natasha, but to add up stories and clarifications of random characters. Also, the book flows nicely, it is very easy to read and understand.

There were a few heavy subjects mentioned that I like are being addressed: the immigration story is very realistic and people is dealing with this flawed system every day; we can only imagine the desperation and grief families feel. There’s the issue of cultural differences being above a son’s feelings as Daniel’s parents portray or how the only good enough career path to take is medicine. There’s the suicide consideration and how what we might think of as a silly thank you has the power to turn someone’s life around.

Yeah, I may have been bored by the alternate stories but I still noticed the amount of issues to be dealt with and as soon as I realized this my focus shifted.

I liked Daniel better than Natasha, I found him outgoing and relaxed despite his whole “don’t want to be a doctor” issue. Natasha I found too skeptical for my taste and sometimes a bit arrogant and stiff.

The Negatives:

  1. I don’t mind instalove but this one didn´t sweep me off my feet… everything happens in less than twelve hours?? C’mon!
  2. I’m a believer but that many coincidences just don’t happen in one day.
  3. I find Daniel’s obsession with Natasha too mushy-gushy for my taste.
  4. Again, some alternate stories made me feel like: what do I care?

If you are not a fan of instalove you should probably skip this book.

BookDepository Link

One thought on “The Sun Is Also a Star REVIEW

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

