The Shack REVIEW

Title: The Shack

Author: William Paul Young

Genre:  Christian Fiction, Spirituality, Inspirational

Publisher: Windblown Media

 

Description:

Mackenzie Allen Phillips’s youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation, and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later, in this midst of his great sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change his life forever.

 

My Review:

★★★★★

This is another hard book for me to review cause I feel as if the experience of reading it, good or bad, is different for everyone. I don’t even know if I liked it or not I just know that, strangely, it provided an answer to something that had been bothering me for quite some time.

I started reading it because someone saw the movie, and told me: “I have the book, I’ll lent it to you, and you’ll like it because you read” and truthfully, I just couldn’t say no even if neither the book nor the movie had caught my attention before (I know, shame on me for not being able to say NO…).

The beginning of the story I found it a bit boring to the point where I skipped some parts and quickly reprimanded myself to go back and read them; to me it’s not an unputdownable book, in fact, I had to put it down for quite some time before I finished it in order to clear my thoughts, but that’s just how the journey was for me and it truly started in the Shack with Mack.

First, I want to say that the book never states that there are no consequences for sin and I am obligated to remind you, my fellow book lovers, that this is NOT THE BIBLE so please don’t take this as a theological truth.

I think this book is a representation, a metaphor, a way for us to visualize some of the characteristics of God so we can better understand. Maybe this book is not intended for the 99 sheep left in the flock but to the one that wandered away, maybe it will give something to ponder to that person who can’t find a way out of his own loss, maybe it will be for those feeling their own long dark night as Mother Theresa would say, or maybe every single one of us who have read it will be reminded that He is especially fond of every single one of us.

The important thing for me is that it’s not what The Shack teaches us that is most important, it’s what we learn if we are open to seek and find God in the dark.

BookDepository Link

2 thoughts on “The Shack REVIEW

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

