Everything, Everything REVIEW

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publisher: Random House Children’s Books

Description:

If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly, the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken. This innovative and heartfelt debut novel unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.  

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My Review:

★★★☆☆

I really enjoy a fast paced book, and I read this one in the blink of an eye although it started off with the ordinary forbidden love. I really don’t mind forbidden love, there are a lot of books about it but if the story is well written it can be great.

I loved Madeline as a narrator and I enjoyed how brave she is about her condition, how she is able to walk us through her kind of day and difficulties, and how she presents the book like a journal with illustrations, dictionary, and creativity.

I like that Olly is smart, handsome, respectful and confident but also caring of his mother, sister and then Maddy.

Regarding the instalove, of course she fell for her next door neighbor I mean, she just turned eighteen and had never gone out, it was only natural that she’d fall for this guy… on top of it, he was nice to her and they both had issues to cope with which was the foundation for their relationship. I would’ve loved it if she fell for him but took him some more time to fall for her just to see their characters mature a bit more and maybe Maddy would realize that she needed to do things for her and not him; this could’ve gone a long way with just a tiny bit of complication and heartache but from the moment he immediately reciprocated her feelings, it could all go in one way only.

I loved the doodles, illustrations and of course, the beautiful cover.

THE NEGATIVES

What really made me rate this book with 3.5 stars was the ending. I’m sorry but I was frustrated that another kind of disease took Maddy’s life away. Yes, it’s a mental illness and yes, it is not intentional, but OMG I wasn’t expecting that and it wasn’t welcome.

 

MY CONCLUSION

“Just because you can’t experience everything doesn’t mean you shouldn’t experience anything.”

I totally agree!

2 thoughts on “Everything, Everything REVIEW

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

