A Court of Thorns and Roses REVIEW

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre:  Fantasy, New Adult

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

 

Description:

The breathtaking start to a seductive high-fantasy from New York Times bestselling author of Throne of Glass series.

No mortal would dare venture beyond the borders of their world to Prythian, a forbidden kingdom of faeries. But Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill, and when she spots a deer being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. Killing the predator comes at a price though – her life, or her freedom.

Dragged to Prythian, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, the faerie lands becomes an even more dangerous place.

My Review:

★★★☆

This is a retelling of Beauty and the Best; I found it really entertaining and read it in two days… yes, I know it’s not as exciting as Crown of Midnight (my favorite from the Throne of Glass Series) but I felt it was quite engaging, easy to read and couldn’t put it down. However, the 4 stars rating is mostly because (a) it’s a more of the same… let’s face it: I see a love triangle brewing in the cauldron (Tamlin-Feyre-Rhys), (b) maybe I’m old school but for a YA book it sure is explicit, I wouldn’t recommend the series for a YA audience and I’ll shelve it under New Adult, and (c) we don’t get to see Feyre do anything but paint.

I think S.J.M is an awesome action writer but this book focused on the romance alone so, it’s an entertaining romance but in my opinion it fell short.

Tamlin didn’t even make an effort before Feyre was swooning over him. I was expecting her to be harder on him, just as hard as she asked Nesta to be about this Tomas guy. I wanted her to be distant and cold, to make him really earn her, to feel some kind of attraction towards Lucien (or Rhys) but through some twist finally see Tamlin right there. But no, she was very accommodating, trusted Tamlin that her family was taken care of and that was it. Don’t get me wrong, I liked following that storyline… I feel she deserved to be taken care of as she had to be strong for her family while they exploited her but still I was expecting a bit more badassery than just catching a Suriel; I wanted her to drive him out of his wits and him, in return, to drive her crazy too.

I loved Lucien, he’s so likable even if he was an a-hole to Feyre at the beginning!

I loved the world building, each description of the Fae, the surroundings, the creatures, the mansion, the lands… I don’t really like too much detail when I read but in this book it was so well done that it didn’t feel boring at all and never felt the need of skipping it. I also enjoyed learning more about their mythology and the magical elements… A bow for Sarah J. Maas for being able to create a world we can truly be in.

I’ve read some comments about the lack of diversity in this book and I realize it does lack diversity but I’m not the kind of person who takes things too personally and feels everything is done with the sole purpose of hurting someone else, I’m sorry but that’s just not me. It’s different when a book contains diversity but it implies things about characters just because of their skin color or sexual preferences… but I don’t feel that’s the case with this book.

The Negatives:

After her badassery attempt, Feyre resigned herself to know how it feels to be taken care of. Again, not that she didn’t deserve it but I would have liked for her to rebel more.

I found Feyre’s family soooo annoying! What a bunch of shameless opportunists! They didn’t even deserve what they got from Tamlin in the end.

It lacked action, intrigue, Amarantha to be a real threat that left us with a major cliffhanger.

Anyway, I enjoyed it very much and eager to finish the sequel!

BookDepository Link

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses REVIEW

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

