A Court of Wings and Ruin REVIEW

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre:  New Adult, Fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s

 

Description:

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

 

My Review:

★★★★☆

My rating is 4 stars because even with the few negatives I found, I really enjoyed this book and it went as fast-paced as my “on vacation” kids allowed me.

I liked how the characters developed in this book including Feyre’s sisters, especially Nesta who shows much more than her bad attitude in this book proving instead her bravery and courage; I found myself looking forward to scenes with Nesta and Cassian’s bickering, which I enjoyed very much. Both becoming my favorites.

We get to learn a lot more about Mor, Cassian, Azriel and Amren’s stories and personalities, which have evolved with every turn of events making us feel we finally know them better.

I loved the Suriel, the Carver, Stryga and Bryaxis for their invaluable help in saving Prythian; they gave the book something extra with their humor, sarcasm, kindness, and even with their schemes…

I had mixed feelings about Eris, who I hated at first but don’t know what to think now that he may care for Lucien; his remorse about Mor seemed genuine too. It’s not enough, but seems a better High Lord of the Autumn Court than Beron.

For me the plot wasn’t slow paced at all, it took me a bit too long because when school’s over my reading time is as well. I enjoy books with less detail and more character conversations and ACOWAR happens to be a bit like that.

I like how the story plunges us into some of the other Courts details and their policies, we get a glimpse of the personalities of the other High Lords, what they think about each other and although there’s always speculation as to where would each stand at the moment of truth they all connect at some point.

We’re told some more about the history of the Fae people: who was friends with who, what happened during the first war and just details that give us insight about why things went south in Prythian.

The Negatives:

  • I’m sorry for repeating myself but this is a YA book published by Bloomsbury USA Children’s. Come again? “Bloomsbury USA Children’s”… so, why it has that kind of scenes is beyond me; and we’ve been reading those since ACOTAR. I’ll recommend it as NA again.
  • The first part where Feyre was undercover in Tamlin’s court was an opportunity to build tension and excitement, Feyre should’ve been sneakier so we could panic for her… but, she spent her time hating Ianthe and whining about Tamlin. Another wasted opportunity for suspense is at the High Lords’ meeting when Tamlin had the chance to sow discord among them; and yet, SJM had them all siding with the Night Court without a second thought.
  • I’ve complained a lot about how I don’t like it when authors resurrect the main characters… why kill them in the first place? And this book is no exception. I didn’t mind when Feyre was resurrected because I felt it was a “thank you for saving our land” thing but it feels unrealistic to bring another one back from the dead just because Feyre demands it.

 

I hope the other books are a spin-off about the threat the queens pose from someone else’s POV.

BookDepository Link

5 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin REVIEW

Add yours

  1. Great review. I definitely relate to you on all aspects of the negative points. This was a let down after reading ACOMAF and having such high hopes for it. There were some great parts but the ending killed it for me. I think that those who died should’ve stayed dead because they didn’t die in vain. Bringing them back just made me feel like the ending was wrapped up too quickly. I wanted to feel more emotions and it fell short for me. I enjoyed a lot of other points, like getting more background on the other characters, especially her sisters. I also wanted more Lucian. I’m curious what POV’s will be explored in the other three companion books. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

