Again, I read only one book this week: Stalking Jack the Ripper (review to come), and found this quote that made my mind go back to a not so happy memory (I’m sorry if this is getting too personal):

Quote 24JUL2017 SJTR

By the main character of Stalking Jack the Ripper, Audrey Rose Wadsworth; and the reason it caught my attention is because I do have one regret.

Five years ago my grandmother (dad’s mom) died at the age of 95, she was in the hospital since that morning and I didn’t know about it. My mom called me that day at work and among other things we talked about, I asked her how grandma was (I don’t even know why I did, I just felt I needed to ask); she told me she had been taken to the hospital that very day because she wasn’t well. I didn’t think anything of it and she didn’t tell me it was that serious… until an hour later, at 03:00 p.m., she called again to say she was dying and that sons and grandsons were called to say our goodbyes. My husband left his office to come and pick me up and we rushed to the hospital but were two blocks away when my mom called again to say she’d passed…

What bothers me and has for the last 5 years is not that I didn’t make it there in time; it’s that I wasn’t there for years. I barely saw her two or three times a year, called her for her birthday or mother’s day but IT’S NOT ENOUGH.

My regret is that I should’ve been there more often! It’s not like we lived an ocean apart, it’s just that I was so consumed in my work, my kids, my problems, my life that never crossed my mind that I was losing her. I took her for granted and now it hurts.

I’m trying hard not to make the same mistake!

3 thoughts on “

Add yours

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your grandma. I know exactly how you feel. I have been struggling with these same feelings. I lost both of my dads within a year of each other and it has been hard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

