July Wrap-Up

Good day my book-worm friends!!

The time for our July Wrap-up is here and where I’m standing it’s 06:20 p.m.

All my days felt as if they ended too quickly,  kids will be back in school on August 10th so vacation is almost over and I don’t know what to feel about going back to the hustle of the school days. Anyway, it’s been a good month because I managed to read 6 books so I’m happy… I thought I’d read three at most.

We live in El Salvador but the kids and I are currently vacationing in Guatemala with my parents so we’re able to attend a book fair that happens once a year and it’s called FILGUA 2017 (International Book Fair) where bookstores have special discounts and authors are able to present their work; this year it was dedicated to the writer Miguel Angel Asturias and authors from Central and South America were invited to present their books. My kids’ English teacher wrote the children’s book My Beautiful Family and made her presentation as well.

Anyway, I was hoping to get lots of books there, BUT my kids decided they wanted something too soooooo: Mom got nothing!

20264841_10212193659970060_4618364040011543807_n

Bee Post Divider

Now let’s get back to business, as I was saying this month I read 5.5 books (plus their teacher’s book… couldn’t help myself).

Rating: ★

Square F  Thirteen Reasons Why: to me this is one of the best books I’ve read so far because it reminds us that we are all different and have to be compassionate towards each other.

 

Rating: ★★★★☆

Square F  A Court of Mist and Fury: started in June and finally finished in July 8th; I really enjoyed it but there was this issue (don’t worry, I wont mention it here too) that lost it a star.

Square F  A Court of Wings and Ruin: it was very good and I enjoyed the ride because we got to learn more about the other courts and the Fae people but again there was this issue that interfered with my rating.

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Square F  Stalking Jack the Ripper: I enjoyed it but expected to feel the adrenaline.

 

Not yet rated (Reviews to come)…

Square F  Eliza and Her Monsters: I took this recommendation from @chicnerdreads and loved it so I rated it 5 stars; I related to Eliza so much that I was reminded about how reading became my escape.

Square F  Just Another Girl: I took this recommendation from @KrystiYAandWine and agree with her 100% that this book should be taught in high school. It is such a short book, only 256 pages, but it has a very strong message that kids need to know.

 

Migrated

MigrateLa Casa del Viento (The House of the Wind): (by Titania Hardie) I’m not only struggling to find the time to read but it’s also not an engaging book. My mom’s loving it so far but the first five chapters I’ve read haven’t been that exciting. I’m returning home next Sunday so I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish it.

MigrateA Gathering of Shadows & A Conjuring of Light: I don’t know what the hell is happening with this books, I’m sorry I just can’t find it in me to start…

 

 

 

Tweet Me
Follow me on Twitter!
One thought on “July Wrap-Up

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

