Gingerbread Man REVIEW

Title: Gingerbread Man

Author: Lee Strauss

Genre:  Young Adult, Mistery, Sci-Fi, Suspense

Publisher: ESB Publishing

 

Description

When that cute chick you met online is murdered – but shows up for your next internet meeting anyway.

Marlow’s just a regular geeky college freshman with little to no experience with girls, so when he has a semi-flirtatious chat with a cute girl online, it’s almost more than his nerves can handle.

Then the girl is brutally murdered.

Or is she?

Marlow finds himself teamed up with intelligent and savvy Sage Farrell, a girl so far out of his league he feels blinded in her presence – literally – damned glasses! Together they work to find the identity of @gingerbreadman. Can they stop the killer before he strikes in more worlds than one?

~~~

FRINGE meets ELEMENTARY in this Science Fiction Mystery Romantic Suspense by Amazon best-selling author Lee Strauss.

 

My Review

★★★★☆

Yet again I want to emphasize that this is a YA Novel, clean of any graphic scenes and even the rapes are only mentioned; it may be recommended to YA audiences.

The story is told by four characters: Teagan, Sage, Marlow and @gingerbreadman. I rated it four stars because, at a certain point, I had trouble following the different POV’s and had to go back to check who was talking and, most importantly, where was talking from.

Setting aside my entanglement with the POV’s, I very much enjoyed this book and not once did I suspect this person was the killer (naive of me? probably).

At some point in the story things started happening and it was clear to me that something weird was going on with Teagan and Marlow, how was it possible that they weren’t able to coincide? All the same, it didn’t occur to me what was going on until later on, so the mystery kept me on edge and eager to finish the novel as fast as possible. I’m definitely continuing with this series!

I liked Marlow so much! He’s modest, helpful, geeky and reserved while Sage is the outgoing party girl, an interesting match. He’s quite determined too, jumping to save this girl he knew only through the internet and who wasn’t even kind enough to show up to their date. I like how each character’s alter ego is very different in each universe so they’re new for us to get to know.

Solving this mystery was quite a journey for everybody and the identity of the murderer indeed is solved in the most unexpected way.

*Thanks to the Author for providing a free e-book in exchange for an honest opinion.

BookDepository Link

One thought on “Gingerbread Man REVIEW

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑